Lady Skater Peplum Top

I’ve been somewhat waylaid by a historical costuming opportunity (more on that when I finish the items), but I’ve at least completed the first item for 2015’s WA Challenge: A cream-colored peplum top.

This is adapted from the Lady Skater dress pattern, following instructions here. I increased the flare using the half-inch slash-and-spread technique and I’m pretty happy with that size. The peplum is about 8.5 inches long.

skater_peplum_cream2The other obvious difference from the original dress pattern is the puff sleeves! I used this method (link goes to a PDF) to draft the puff sleeves (separating the pieces by 1/2 inch rather than 1 inch) and added a band around the bottom. The sleeve bands are a bit baggy on me, but it’s comfy this way and I don’t think it looks “wrong.” (I also liked the look of the sleeves before I added the bands–they had an angel-wing or kimono look. I still can’t decide whether I should should’ve just left them like that.)

skater_peplum_cream1Otherwise, I’d already adjusted the pattern by shortening the bodice when I made the dresses. This time, I also did a sway-back adjustment (instructions here); you can’t tell from this photo (oh well), butI swear it has actually eliminated some of the wrinkling!

skater_peplum_cream3I really love this pattern (in case you can’t tell from the fact that this is the third garment I’ve made from it). It’s easy and produces flattering and comfortable garments. I’m looking forward to making some other variations with long sleeves for the fall and winter.

By the way, since many of my makes for spring/summer call for a fairly small amount of fabric, and since I’m stocking up on solid colors in basic shades, I decided to spring for fancy-pants organic cotton. This top is made from organic cotton jersey in “natural”–it’s very soft and lovely so far. The edges curl up like crazy, unfortunately, but since I’m used to this pattern it didn’t cause me too much angst.

Spring/Summer Capsule Wardrobe Sewing Queue

Skirts

  1. MAKE: Knee-length Hollyburn in black cotton broadcloth or poplin; white lining with white eyelet ruffle (longer than overskirt); contour waistband; elastic in back of waistband
  2. MAKE: Long petticoat skirt in black lawn or voile with deep ruffle, gathered at waist with back elastic
  3. IN PROCESS: Brown midi petticoat skirt–need to shorten the skirt I have and fix waistband (add lining? add pockets?)
  4. IN PROCESS: Blue denim Hollyburn–need to take in waistband (okay, this color isn’t technically in my palette, but I’m considering it a neutral denim)
  5. IN PROCESS: Black floral circle skirt with attached black eyelet petticoat–need to replace waistband

Tops

  1. MAKE: Peplum top in black ponte with Nevermore collar (Simplicity 1699 view B)
  2. MAKE: Sweetheart t-shirt in white jersey (from Gertie Sews Vintage Casual)
  3. MAKE: Sweetheart t-shirt in black jersey (assuming this pattern works for me)
  4. DONE: Peplum top from Lady Skater in cream
  5. MAKE: Another cream or green top?
  6. HAVE: Black & white polka dot Bronte top
  7. HAVE: Gray & black horses print Bronte top
  8. IN PROCESS: Black tunic top from Weekender Dress pattern
  9. IN PROCESS: Black gauze top–need to add rows of elastic to waist

Dresses

  1. HAVE: Gray floral Lady Skater
  2. HAVE: Black and gray Weekender Dress
  3. HAVE: Green and pink floral Lady Skater
  4. HAVE: Green knee-length dress with neck ties (purchased)

Outerwear

  1. MAKE: Long-sleeved bolero in gray (or black?) linen or laceweight sweater knit or lightweight sweatshirt fleece (Butterick 5232 [out of print, sorry!])
  2. HAVE: Olive military jacket (purchased, but need to fix closures)
  3. HAVE: Gray jersey elbow-length cardigan w/ ruffles (purchased)
  4. HAVE: Black and cream lightweight sweater knit cardigan (purchased)
