Knit Sweetheart Top

Finally, another piece for the Wardrobe Architect Challenge is done. This is the Knit Sweetheart Top from Gertie Sews Vintage Casual. Changes I made:

  • Short sleeves rather than 3/4 or cap (I just shortened the 3/4 pattern piece).
  • Turned under the sleeve hems rather than using bands (kind of regret this as my sewing machine is causing all kinds of puckering!).
  • Just serged the bottom hem rather than turning under (it’s shortened a bit, too). Hey, I’m planning on mostly wearing it tucked in and this way it stays stretchy (I don’t think my machine can handle a twin needle and my serger doesn’t do overlock).

sweethearttee_1I had to take in the sides at the waist quite a bit to make this fit to my body a bit better; I probably could’ve just cut a smaller size, but the knit I used (a cotton interlock) is rather heavy and I wasn’t sure if it might end up feeling too tight in the chest and hips.

sweethearttee_2I realize the shoulders are, as usual, too wide for me. But I’m too lazy to fix it in this shirt. Next one! In any case, I love the neckline; I made no adjustments and I think it turned out the perfect size (and it’s much more interesting than a plain crewneck). I can definitely see myself making more of these.

On another note, I’ve recently been bitten by the intense desire to make a long peasant-style dress out of cotton gauze (like, uh, this one). I wouldn’t need a pattern! I know where I can get inexpensive gauze! It would be lightweight and comfortable! But would I really wear it as an everyday dress, or would it be too costume-y…??? Argh.

Anyway, here’s where the queue stands (incidentally, the queue does seem to change every time I post it since I’m continually changing my mind refining my plan *cough*). I’m leaning toward doing the long petticoat skirt next. I need more long skirts once it’s warm enough to not wear tights.

Spring/Summer Capsule Wardrobe Sewing Queue

Skirts

  1. MAKE: Knee-length Hollyburn in black cotton poplin; white lining with white eyelet ruffle (longer than overskirt); contour waistband; elastic in back of waistband
  2. MAKE: Long petticoat skirt in black voile with deep ruffle, gathered at waist with back elastic
  3. IN PROCESS: Brown midi petticoat skirt–need to shorten the skirt I have and fix waistband (add lining? add pockets?) (currently rethinking this since really it works fine as it is…)
  4. IN PROCESS: Blue denim Hollyburn–need to take in waistband (okay, this color isn’t technically in my palette, but I’m considering it a neutral denim)
  5. IN PROCESS: Black floral circle skirt with attached black eyelet petticoat–need to replace waistband

Tops

  1. MAKE: Peplum top in black interlock with Nevermore collar (Simplicity 1699 view B)
  2. DONE: Sweetheart t-shirt in white interlock (from Gertie Sews Vintage Casual)
  3. MAKE: Sweetheart t-shirt in black jersey (currently rethinking this since I do already have a plain black tee that’s perfectly wearable…)
  4. DONE: Peplum top from Lady Skater in cream jersey
  5. MAKE: Another cream or green top?
  6. HAVE: Black & white polka dot Bronte top
  7. HAVE: Gray & black horses print Bronte top
  8. IN PROCESS: Black tunic top from Weekender Dress pattern
  9. IN PROCESS: Black gauze top–need to add shirring to waist

Dresses

  1. HAVE: Gray floral Lady Skater
  2. HAVE: Black and gray Weekender Dress
  3. HAVE: Green and pink floral Lady Skater
  4. HAVE: Green knee-length dress with neck ties (purchased)

Outerwear

  1. MAKE: Long-sleeve bolero in gray (or black?) linen or laceweight sweater knit or lightweight sweatshirt fleece (Butterick 5232 [out of print, sorry!])
  2. HAVE: Olive military jacket (purchased, but need to fix closures)
  3. HAVE: Gray jersey elbow-length cardigan w/ ruffles (purchased)
  4. HAVE: Black and cream lightweight sweater knit cardigan (purchased)
