Wardrobe Architect: Fall/Winter Capsule Wardrobe Plan

Okay, here are my preliminary plans for fall/winter capsule wardrobe sewing. I live in a place that gets snow, but where I’m often inside in heating that is too warm, so layering is generally the best idea. This means I need a few more tops and dresses than I had for spring/summer since I’ll want some with short sleeves and some with long.

As for actual garments to sew, I’m trying to make sure this time that they not only fill a hole in my wardrobe but also get me excited to sew. I found that my spring/summer plans included a few too many TNT (tried-and-true) patterns that, while quick to sew, were less interesting (and thus didn’t always come to pass, haha). This time I’m trying to make sure each thing I’m planning to sew is also something that I’m really excited about.

So, in that vein, these are the items I’m planning to make:

  • Wool dress: Giselle view A in gray wool (fully lined, perhaps in purple with purple binding at the neckline and sleeve ends?)
  • Long-sleeve fit-and-flare knit dress: McCalls’ 6951 view D in black interlock (perhaps with raised neckline & Nevermore collar)
  • Corduroy A-line skirt: Ginger version 2 in brown corduroy
  • Turtleneck: Vogue 8670 view E in cream jersey
  • Hoodie: Simplicity 1251 view B in black sweatshirt fleece–would redraft hood based on another I have and add a center front separating zip

And here’s my complete capsule wardrobe! Stuff in bold is stuff I’m planning to sew; italics indicates items that need to be purchased.

Fall/Winter Capsule Wardrobe

Dresses

  1. Gray floral Lady Skater (short sleeve)
  2. Black Weekender dress (short sleeve)
  3. Green purchased dress (short sleeve)
  4. Gray wool Giselle (3/4 sleeve)
  5. Black knit dress with Nevermore collar (long sleeve)
  6. Red purchased dress (long sleeve)

Skirts/Pants

  1. Brown tweed Hollyburn
  2. Black wool Walking Skirt
  3. Corduroy Ginger
  4. Jean Hollyburn
  5. Nevermore skirt
  6. Jeans

Tops

  1. Plain black T-shirt (short sleeve)
  2. White sweetheart T-shirt (short sleeve)
  3. Gray cropped V-neck (elbow-length)
  4. Black wrap top (elbow-length)
  5. Cream turtleneck (long sleeve)
  6. Black Bronte (long sleeve)
  7. Black Weekender tunic (long sleeve)

Outerwear

  1. Black corduroy blazer
  2. Pumpkin corduroy blazer
  3. Black fleece zip-up hoodie
  4. Bottle green wool sweater
  5. Black or gray wool sweater?
  6. Heavy black wool coat

Accessories

  1. Slips
  2. Tights & socks
  3. Black boots
  4. Brown oxfords
  5. Scarves
  6. Brown satchel
  7. Black She Who Sews Dottie bag
  8. Black leather gloves
  9. Brown leather gloves

You will notice I included shoes and accessories this time. I had informally kept them in mind for spring/summer, but fall/winter is when I wear really functional accessories so I wanted to make sure I have what I will be using and make informed decisions on replacements.

