Gray Rose Peasant Top

When I ordered this fabric–Small Gray Floral on Black Cotton Spandex Blend Knit Fabric from Girl Charlee–I was planning to use it for a t-shirt. But when it arrived, it was so soft and drapey, and rather thin, that I decided to make something to take advantage of that. A peasant top!

IMG_4702

(Hello, kitty!)

This is based on McCall’s 5050, View A. I’ve made this pattern a couple of times before and knew that it was quite large. So since I was using a stretchy knit, I went ahead and cut out the extra small. I think I should’ve done larger sleeves so they have a bit more puff, but overall it’s certainly fine!

IMG_4726

I made things tougher for myself by using strips of fabric to form the elastic casings rather than folding down the neckline and folding up the sleeves, PLUS that means that you can see the inside of the fabric! Argh! But it’s still sooo comfy and cute that, um, I’m going to just pretend it’s a “design feature.”

I added some nice cotton lace around the neckline and sleeves. I reallllly wanted to use it on the hem, but I was short about 5 inches. Oh well! Narrow hem on the serger it is.

IMG_4738

This was sewn entirely on my serger, except for attaching the elastic casings.

IMG_4737

Oh, yeah, and the ribbon bow on the center front. That’s just a requirement for peasant tops, right??

IMG_4701

Spring/Summer Capsule Wardrobe

Dresses

  1. Gray floral Lady Skater
  2. Green dress (purchased)
  3. Cream floral Lady Skater (this is a holdover from fall/winter that didn’t end up getting made then)
  4. Calico Giselle
  5. Calico Simplicity 1080 View A (I’m not 100% sure this pattern will work for me, but…I’m just dying to try it!)

Skirts

  1. Jersey maxi skirt (McCall’s 6608 View D) in black
  2. Gauze maxi skirt with ruffle (rework gauze circle skirt for this)
  3. White petticoat skirt
  4. Brown midi petticoat skirt
  5. Jean Hollyburn
  6. Nevermore skirt

Tops

  1. Wrap top (Butterick 6285)
  2. Cropped black T-shirt
  3. Gray rose peasant top
  4. Black Weekender tunic

Outerwear

  1. Jean jacket (Simplicity 8020 View A)
  2. Army green jacket (purchased)
  3. Green spencer
  4. Gray jersey cardigan (purchased)
  5. Aurelia cardigan?
