Red Rose Wrap Top

As soon as I saw this pattern, Butterick 6285, announced, I was dying to make the wrap top. And now I finally have!

IMG_4772

I highly recommend checking out Gertie’s sewalong posts in addition to the instructions. She tells you how to finish the sleeves by machine, plus I find her explanations much easier to follow. (I admit, I didn’t know what “break your stitching” meant, so her note was really helpful!)

IMG_4783

Knowing this is a wrap top made of stretchy knit, I valiantly sewed a straight size (none of my usual adjustments for my waist being a size larger than my bust) according to my upper bust measurement (to account for my narrow shoulders). It ended up a bit small in the torso (very unusual for a Butterick pattern!), but I think it still looks great. Except, um, the sleeves a really tight. I’ve never had that problem before, so I’m wondering if maybe my fabric wasn’t stretchy enough? Or maybe I just do need to make it a size larger.

The other slightly off thing is that the main body of the top ends right at the bottom of my rib cage. That’s an awfully short crop top! Unfortunately, the pattern doesn’t include any lengthen/shorten lines, so I’m not sure how to fix that. But fortunately, this particular fabric is really stable and the ties are quite wide, so I can just wrap them in the right place to get it down to my natural waist. That said, this is the reason that if I make this again, I might only do so if I’m planing to layer it over dresses.

IMG_4831

I also sewed this entirely on my regular machine using a straight stitch, per the instructions. It worked out perfectly fine, but I think next time I’d serge it so the seams are a bit less bulky (not that it’s at all noticeable, I think). Fabric is Red Rose Floral Bouquets on Black Cotton Spandex Knit Fabric from Girl Charlee and it’s so soft and gorgeous. It’s definitely a medium weight, and pretty easy to handle.

IMG_4802

Anyway, it was quick to make and cute, so I’m pretty happy!

IMG_4742

Spring/Summer Capsule Wardrobe

Dresses

  1. Gray floral Lady Skater
  2. Green dress (purchased)
  3. Cream floral Lady Skater (this is a holdover from fall/winter that didn’t end up getting made then)
  4. Calico Giselle
  5. Calico Simplicity 1080 View A (I’m not 100% sure this pattern will work for me, but…I’m just dying to try it!)

Skirts

  1. Jersey maxi skirt (McCall’s 6608 View D) in black
  2. Gauze maxi skirt with ruffle (rework gauze circle skirt for this)
  3. White petticoat skirt
  4. Brown midi petticoat skirt
  5. Jean Hollyburn
  6. Nevermore skirt

Tops

  1. Wrap top (Butterick 6285)
  2. Cropped black T-shirt
  3. Gray rose peasant top
  4. Black Weekender tunic

Outerwear

  1. Jean jacket (Simplicity 8020 View A)
  2. Army green jacket (purchased)
  3. Green spencer
  4. Gray jersey cardigan (purchased)
  5. Aurelia cardigan?
