Simplicity 1080

Everybody calls Simplicity 1080 “granny chic.” I decided, therefore, to attempt “goth granny chic.” Okay, I totally fell in love with this quilting cotton line and decided to say screw it to everyone who tells you not to sew clothes with quilting cotton. So this is made with Beacon Hall line of quilting cotton.

IMG_5029

I mostly followed the instructions pretty closely for finishing the seams. The main departure, as you can see, was binding the neckline rather than folding it under. The neck was already a bit wide and I liked how this echoed the binding on the pockets anyway.

IMG_5059.jpg

Other changes I made were to lower the pleats and add black eyelet lace trim to the bottom.

IMG_5060.jpg

I really agonized over what size to make this–I was firmly in the medium range based on my bust size, but so often these patterns end up huge on me (pattern has too much ease + I have narrow shoulders). Most reviews said the straight size was good, but a few mentioned that the dress ended up tentlike. So I bit the bullet and made a small. I’m happy with it! I think definitely the shoulders would’ve been too wide on the medium.

IMG_5040.jpg

Making good progress on my spring/summer capsule wardrobe plans!

Spring/Summer Capsule Wardrobe

Dresses

  1. Gray floral Lady Skater
  2. Green dress (purchased)
  3. Cream floral Lady Skater
  4. Calico Giselle
  5. Black/gray calico Simplicity 1080 View A

Skirts

  1. Jersey maxi skirt (McCall’s 6608 View D) in black
  2. Black gauze petticoat skirt with ruffle
  3. White petticoat skirt
  4. Brown midi petticoat skirt
  5. Jean Hollyburn
  6. Nevermore skirt

Tops

  1. Wrap top (Butterick 6285)
  2. Cropped black T-shirt
  3. Gray rose peasant top
  4. Black Weekender tunic

Outerwear

  1. Jean jacket (Simplicity 8020 View A)
  2. Army green jacket (purchased)
  3. Green spencer
  4. Gray jersey cardigan (purchased)
  5. Aurelia cardigan?
