Halloween Essential Wristlet

A tiny purse/wallet has been on my list for a while–something for traveling that will hold my phone, cards, and cash, but that doesn’t take up much space and will slip easily into my carryon. For a while I was looking at wallet patterns, but eventually I realized I really needed it to zip shut and, well, a simple zipper pouch just made the most sense to me. (I contemplated zip-around wallets, but it seemed like they would be awkward to open without possibly spilling cards everywhere….)

But, you may ask, you ended up just making a pouch with boxed corners, why did you buy a pattern? Aren’t there like a million free tutorials online?? Sure, but the Essential Wristlet pattern has a lot of great information and tips, especially if you’re relatively new to bag-making. And it turned out great!

IMG_5929.JPG

I made the small boxed-corner version with a card pocket and these additions:

  • a zip pocket on the outside
  • a zip pocket on the inside
  • a second D ring on the other side so I can attached a cross-body strap (the hardware matches a long strap I’d made for another bag–hurray for mix-and-match straps)

To make the zip pockets, I followed the instructions from the Dottie Vintage Bag (I’m sure one could find a tutorial for that online, though!).

IMG_5928.JPG

Here’s a look at the lining pieces with pockets before they were sewn up since you can’t really see them in the finished bag:

img_5900

And how much do I love this fabric?

img_5927

The outer is Riley Blake Lost & Found Halloween Newsprint Black and the lining is Timeless Treasures Gather Together Metallic Harvest Bias Plaid Orange Fabric (which doesn’t seem to be available anymore, alas).

The size is perfect–comfortably fits my iPhone 5 (in its case), keys, cards, cash, and maybe chapstick, but that’s it. I can’t wait to use it on my next trip!

